Image
7

Outfit of the Day: Jumpsuit for Joy

 

20140306_135555

Hi everyone! Thanks so much for stopping by! Given that I’ve done a whole series on jumpsuits, I thought I would show you how I styled mine. I’m rather short, so trust me when I say that I have to be careful!

Style Note: My jumpsuit is by a French designer called René Derhy. I went for black and white to keep things classic, but infused playfulness with the print. René has been around since the 70s – so there is a carefree, bohemian but undeniably European spirit in her clothes. The pinstripes draw the eye up and down, creating the illusion of height! The fitted top keeps things feminine, while the palazzo pants hide problem areas 😉

Accessories: I honoured the French theme with faux pearl necklace (Lovisa, on sale for $5; similar here) and a cocktail ring (vintage – see below). I wore red flats for an effortless look, but I equally recommend red heels 😉

20140306_134135 2

20140306_133820

20140306_133256

jumpsuit_necklace

ring_jumpsuit

Get the Look:

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 4.21.29 pm

Left to right: Tory Burch ($494), Free People ($118.52) and Swell ($258.99)

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 3.50.40 pm

In order: Coast ($42), Carolee ($95), Kate Spade ($215), Fallon Jewelry ($495), House of Lavande ($930) and Tom Binns ($2075)
Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 4.01.36 pm

In order: Zalando ($42; also available at Charlotte Russe for $7.50), Zalando ($69), Tory Burch ($250), Nicholas Kirkwood ($495), Valentino ($895) and Chloe ($1230).
Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 4.12.32 pm

In order: JC Penney ($44.99), Max and Chloe ($83), John Lewis ($125), Tiffany’s ($500), Ippolita ($655), and David Yurman ($2910).

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments. Did you like this outfit? Would you have styled it differently? I’d love from hear from you!

Sending you boundless love and style,

Ray xoxo.

7 thoughts on “Outfit of the Day: Jumpsuit for Joy

  1. G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S-!

    I love your jumpsuit and I love it on you and your awesome photos!

    I’m 147cm and a bit but I never worry about whether things will suit me or not, e.g. a lot of women who are petite or average but think of themselves as petite are told they can’t wear things like long boots or maxi dresses/skirts etc but it makes no difference. Take up anything that’s too long and voila – it’s all relative, as long as it fits and is the right size it can be made to work 😀

    For example I’m wearing a jumpsuit here http://fashionthatpays.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/ootd-t3-sin-to-kill-a-mockingbird-outfit-based-on-a-book-quote/ and I didn’t even need to take up or roll the trouser legs which saved a lot of time 😀 Hehe it happens to be stripey too, like the opposite of yours 🙂

    All the best!
    Dolly

    • Hi Dolly!

      WOW! Thanks so much for your generous comment 🙂 It’s true – many women don’t take style risks because there are all these established ‘fashion rules’ about what tall, short, thin, curvy women should wear. It’s important to challenge that. You’re right – it’s all about the fit. We just need to be aware of the silhouette, and balance that with our own proportions to celebrate the body we have. Just little tricks when we’re getting ready 😉

      For example! If I wanna wear long boots, I’d wear a short skirt/dress to create a visual gap between the hemline and the boots, ya know. I own so many maxi dresses, because they’re the sartorial choice of a goddess hehe. I just cinch the waist to ensure that I’m wearing the dress, and that the dress is not wearing me 😉 On a petite gal, maxi skirts look great. You just need a fitted, short top (or one that’s tucked in) to visually break the torso and elongate the legs!

      I’m gonna comment on your post – Harper Lee’s novel is a classic! Alhough I admit I do have a weak spot for Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch in the film adaptation 😉

      Best,
      Ray.

      • Totally agree with everything you’ve said and those are awesome style tips 😀

        Hehe my mum liked Mr Peck too, thanks for your comments on the post and my About page, I’m very glad you liked them and grateful that you took the time to visit 🙂

        All the best!

Leave a Reply

